JEP pictured Yvonne Jouault on her return to Jersey

JEP pictured Yvonne Jouault on her return to Jersey

I never knew my Aunt Yvonne and knew next to nothing about her, but over the years I have found or come across bits of information she was born in 1910 at “Villa-Villetri” in Vallee des Vaux, St Helier her parents were Jean Louis Jouault and Marguerite Marie Le Dain, I know nothing about her early days other than she is mentioned with my father in the visitors book that was kept when my grandmother ran a sort of guesthouse I was told there was always lots of home entertainment there, which maybe is where my aunt gained an interest in the theatre. The next mention of her was when she returned to the island in February 1932 with a Reg Newson as part of the “Le Dain Players” that performed some plays at Springfield receiving good audiences and local reviews, the Jersey Evening Post published write ups and the only picture (above) of my aunt that I have.  It would appear that she was progressing well in her career and in 1936 she appeared in a musical “The Silver Swan” at the Palace Theatre, London she always appeared under her stage name Yvonne Le Dain.

Palace Theatre programme from 1936

Palace Theatre programme from 1936

Shortly after she had finished the musical she married a London musican John Farrant Smith 1903 -1989 from what I can gather Yvonne chose to put her career on hold and her husband took up a post as music teacher at Rugby School. This where my research into her started and I placed an request for information in the local Rugby newspapers and I received a number of replies with details and memories of Yvonne who was a popular and energetic figure in the town, one lady sent me a collection of programmes she had kept of plays that Yvonne and her husband had produced during the war years which were very popular partly due to the lack of entertainment at the time, one of these “Dangerous Corner” directed by Yvonne and music by her husband John included a young Bryan Forbes who passed away yesterday, when I received the programmes I got in touch with Mr Forbes and he kindly responded to my letter and phone call but was unable to give me any further information.

Rugby Repetory Theatre programme with appearance of Bryan Forbes

Rugby Repetory Theatre programme with appearance of Bryan Forbes

I am not sure when but Yvonne seperated from her husband and went to live in London and became an agent for young actors, she appeared to do well for herself although she had some bad tenants in her attached  flat and she eventually moved to Trebetherick, Cornwall which is on the east side of the Camel estuary she died in 1979.

